The small town of Kangigsujuag, on the south-eastern shore of Wakeham Bay, is home around 600 people. It is nestled in the hollow of a splendid valley surrounded by majestic mountains and a landscape of unspeakable beauty. "Kangiqsujuaq" means "the large bay" in Inuktitut, and Wakeham Bay was named after Captain William Wakeham who, in 1897, led an expedition to determine whether the viability of the Hudson Strait for safe navigation. Many businesses have been based here since its settlement by Europeans. In 1884, the Canadian Hudson's Bay Expedition established a commercial trading route to Europe through the Hudson Strait. Seal skin mitts and boots were traded for tobacco and gun powder. In 1910, the French fur company Révillon Frères established a post, followed four years later by the Hudson's Bay Company. In 1928, an experimental fox farm opened and ran for 12 years. One of the most unique Inuit practice here is their way of harvesting mussels in winter. At low tide, they break through the sea ice, climb through the holes and crawl under the ice to collect the shells.